Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't connect with MY laptop

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Helene
Pocketeer


Joined: 19 Apr 2000
Posts: 4
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2000 7:29 pm    Post subject: Can't connect with MY laptop Reply with quote

Sorry to be so long winded :
It hs been 3+ months since I could connect my Casio E-100 to my laptop.
Since then, my laptop had it's hard drive changed, all reinstalled.
Called Casio many times, but not getting anywhere, same instructions everytime.
I had a friend who is an MIS expert look into it.
No connection was established via cable or infrared.
But he tried his PC, via infrared a connection could be started, but not with the cable.
So the device works. I tried my laptop's infrared with another and it works.
I can establish a link with the infrared for a few seconds with my laptop with PCLINK.
Casio suggests a hard reset, but if it can connect elsewhere, at least with infrared, then why should that make a difference.
I've tried Activesynch 3.1 hoping it may help.

Could it be the Device name and PC name?

I am going crazy! WHat could possibly be wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
addb
Pocketeer


Joined: 19 Apr 2000
Posts: 4
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2000 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe a hard reset is a good idea just as a last resort as you never know what is going on with these things.

I dont have my e-105 with me at the moment but I think in the setup for infra red you set what connection speed you would like to send at. This is done at both ends. Maybe you have it set to send at 'only this speed' of 115bps and on your laptop is set to 38. Or something like that. Maybe your MIS EXPERT's laptop has these settings balanced with your PDA and would explain why it works on a different machine. But Im only guessing. Goodluck.
AB.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2000 5:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Are you using ActiveSync 3.0? If so are you selecting the Infrared port?

If the IR monitor is seeing your device then we'll have to look at the logs to see what's wrong. Please send me the wces*.log files via e-mail.

quote:
Originally posted by Helene:
Sorry to be so long winded :
It hs been 3+ months since I could connect my Casio E-100 to my laptop.
Since then, my laptop had it's hard drive changed, all reinstalled.
Called Casio many times, but not getting anywhere, same instructions everytime.
I had a friend who is an MIS expert look into it.
No connection was established via cable or infrared.
But he tried his PC, via infrared a connection could be started, but not with the cable.
So the device works. I tried my laptop's infrared with another and it works.
I can establish a link with the infrared for a few seconds with my laptop with PCLINK.
Casio suggests a hard reset, but if it can connect elsewhere, at least with infrared, then why should that make a difference.
I've tried Activesynch 3.1 hoping it may help.

Could it be the Device name and PC name?

I am going crazy! WHat could possibly be wrong?





------------------
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Windows CE
http://www.cewindows.net - The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2000 6:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

quote:
Originally posted by Helene:

Casio suggests a hard reset, but if it can connect elsewhere, at least with infrared, then why should that make a difference.
I've tried Activesynch 3.1 hoping it may help.



Have you ever been successful connecting via infrared? Your laptop may have the infrared port disabled in the CMOS as my Dell did.





------------------
Richard Kettner
CEcities.com Administrator
Back to top
Helene
Pocketeer


Joined: 19 Apr 2000
Posts: 4
Location: Montreal,Quebec,Canada

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2000 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

quote:
Originally posted by richardkettner:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Helene:
[b]
Casio suggests a hard reset, but if it can connect elsewhere, at least with infrared, then why should that make a difference.
I've tried Activesynch 3.1 hoping it may help.



Have you ever been successful connecting via infrared? Your laptop may have the infrared port disabled in the CMOS as my Dell did.


[/B][/QUOTE]
HI,
Thanks for all your help, after 4 months, it's alive!
I had a friend with MIS experience look into my problem, and nothing helped.
My Casio connected on his PC no problem.
I called Casio, AGAIN, then in going through the same checks, as 20 times before, there was the interrupt 04 used X2.
She suggested I call Dell to put the Infrared on another COM port.
Turns out my Inspiron 3500 won't allow the use of Modem, Infrared AND Serial. I had to disconnect the Infrared.
That's it....but also, I found the cradle is touchy and have to play with it to connect.
So I may have been OK before but that contributed to the problems I had.

Hope this can serve someone else out there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group