Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

network win CE based CNC machine with my laptop

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vincleary
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject: network win CE based CNC machine with my laptop Reply with quote

I recently purchased a used CNC drill line for my shop, and I have located an off-line software I can use to write files for it when home, etc.
The snafu I have is that I don't know how to network this machine to my XP based laptop for transfer of these files.
The machine has no floppy or USB drive, but the mainboard of the console has an integrated NIC that I can plug an etherney cable into (so networking seems plausable).
It's the configuring of this type of connection that I have little experience with.
Any ideas on where to start?
Many thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I would try plugging it into a router and see what IP address the CNC gets. Then try accessing the address using the web browser by typing the IP address. Also, you can try accessing \\ip address\ and see if there are any network shares on t.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vincleary
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the machine physically plugged into the network, but I can't seem to check if the connection is active.
It's a relatively stripped down version (circa 2000) and there is no command prompt option (to do an "ipconfig", etc) or taskbar.
How do I check the machine's address?
Many thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Look on the status screen of the router that hands out the IP addresses for the address of the CNC device.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vincleary
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 May 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 3:46 pm    Post subject: making progress ... Reply with quote

Hi Chris,
OK - the machine is connecting to the network & has an ip address on the local network.
I pinged www.google.com with no problems.
So far so good.
Now I need to access my windows XP shares (if possible).
The machine's network ID page only has space for u/n, password & domain (?), but no workgroup.
When I type //desktop/share in the address bar it thinks about it for a while but ultimately shows nothing (not even an error message).
How do domains and workgroups differ, and is their a work-around (ftp maybe)?
Still stuck.
Thanks,
Vincent C[/i]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Try entering the username and password as well as the workgroup in the domain field and see if you can connect. The workgroup and domain should be interchangeable.

As for FTP, you can try to connect via FTP to the CNC however I doubt it supports it.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group