Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problem connecting CE6 H/PC to router

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nigelmercier
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:32 am    Post subject: Problem connecting CE6 H/PC to router Reply with quote

I've got a couple of problems with my Chinese Windows CE 6 netbook. This may be familiar to certain members of this forum as I've posted it elsewhere:

I'm having a problem connecting my Chinese H/PC to a wireless 3G router. I'm not sure if the issue is with the the H/PC or the router, as I can connect to other APs with the H/PC, but other PCs can connect to the 3G router. Perhaps it's a bit of both. This is the post I made in the support forum for the router:

My Windows CE device has problems connecting to my Solwise NET-3G-3GWIFIMRW router, I often get Authenticated to [SSID] and then Reauthenticating to [SSID] messages popping up. The DHCP server is active, but the netbook lacks a DHCP IP address at this stage (0.0.0.0), or sometimes gets 169.254.100.111.

It's the same even if I load the router's factory defaults, with no encryption.

I've made another boring video [click here]. It shows my Windows CE netbook connecting to my home AP (SSID South), then failing to connect to the 3G Router (SSID Dolcetto). It connects for an instant near the end of the clip (there were several minutes chopped out before this), then goes back into the authentication loop.

[Later] I've managed to get the netbook to connect by giving it a fixed IP. Now I get Connected ... most of the time, but every 10 seconds or so it says Reauthenticating ... (the WPA Rekey timer is set to 600s, so it isn't this). Once I even managed to get to the router setup page, but only once!

If I ping the router on 192.168.1.1 then I get ping transmit failed error 11010. I think this relates to WSA_QOS_ADMISSION_FAILURE not sure if this is another pink fish.

Any suggestions what the Authentication messages mean, and how to fix it?
_________________
--

Nigel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Have you tried disabling all security on the router and see if you can connect? Does the router allow 802.11g as well as 802.11b clients?
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nigelmercier
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisDeHerrera wrote:
Hi,
Have you tried disabling all security on the router and see if you can connect? Does the router allow 802.11g as well as 802.11b clients?


Hi Chris,

Yes, I've tried with no security (that is the factory default) and yes, 11g and 11b.
_________________
--

Nigel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Then try entering the IP address by hand including the gateway and DNS. This workaround will show if it's a DHCP issue.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nigelmercier
Pocketeer


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ChrisDeHerrera wrote:
Hi,
Then try entering the IP address by hand including the gateway and DNS. This workaround will show if it's a DHCP issue.


Thanks Chris, see the OP from the paragraph starting [Later]...
_________________
--

Nigel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Windows CE Questions/Comments All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group