Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New HP2795 and having trouble

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Compaq iPAQ Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Arrowhead
Pocketeer


Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject: New HP2795 and having trouble Reply with quote

I am new to the pocket pc world. Now I have a new 2795. After charging and following the setup procedures all seems to be well with the unit. Of course I have many calendar and contact entries to make and am hoping to do that on my desktop as it would be very tedious otherwise. After loading ActivSync 4.1 it doesn't seem like the ppc and the desktop are communicating with Outlook. I don't even know enough about what is supposed to happen to know if it is working right. Shouldn't I be able to enter my contact info into outlook and get it to sync into the ppc? Any clues to get this to work? Thanks for the help. I am really trying to get this thing to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
The latest version of ActiveSync is 4.5. Did you try installing it? if you use ActiveSync 4.1 with newer devices, you will not be able to sync.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Arrowhead
Pocketeer


Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I mispoke on my initial message. The disk I used does say 4.5 on it. Another thing is that in the instructions that came with the 2795 it says to set outlook as my default mail program. When I go there to do that the button is not lit up for me to click on. Do you know what is up with that? maybe it is trying to find outlook but can't because I don't have it ID'd as the default??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2010 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Did you install Outlook before ActiveSync? If you didn't then reinstall ActiveSync. Did you open Outlook and setup an e-mail account before you synchronized? This is required to sync.

Also, see how far you get in the connection process. See http://www.pocketpcfaq.com/faqs/activesync/tshoot-as4x-connection.htm
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Arrowhead
Pocketeer


Joined: 06 Apr 2010
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did not set up an Email account. It seems to me the 2 are not recognizing each other. That coud be why. My Email is really through Gmail but I am hoping to manage my contacts and be able to sync with Outlook to get that done. How would I set up an account if it isn't really the account I am using?

Outlook has been on my PC all the while so it was on there when I loaded Activsync. I have quite a convoluted situation. Work uses Lotus Notes, home I use Gmail, nowhere do I use Wi-fi however....everywhere I need an address book and I am thinking I should be able to use my Ipaq for that. Now I just need to figure how how. I just can't add all those addresses with the stylus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Compaq iPAQ Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group