Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index Pocket PC FAQ Forums
The place to discuss Windows Mobile, Pocket PCs, Smartphones, Handheld PCs, Windows CE and More!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

sx45i(GPRS)&WifiCF motorola/symbol wireless spectrum 24

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Casio Cassiopeia Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
peteb
Pocketeer


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 4:04 am    Post subject: sx45i(GPRS)&WifiCF motorola/symbol wireless spectrum 24 Reply with quote

hello all,

recently got a wifi CF card (motorola "symbol wireless networker spectrum 24) for the Siemens sx45i, the software installs and i am able to configure the CF card onto my home wireless network and can see signal strength etc. Problem is when i want to open up internet explorer, when i try to navigate to a page the connect screen comes up and there is no option to choose the wifi as a means on going out into the big wide world, i have the IR comm, the GPRS radio module, the hayes compatible Modem on com1 and thats about it.
i'm stumped as to how i can get the card to work with the internet browser. it seems daft such a small thing would stop me from using browser
Question
any ideas??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteb
Pocketeer


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 4:48 am    Post subject: update Reply with quote

i have found the thread
http://forums.pocketpcfaq.com/viewtopic.php?t=18041&start=0
which i think relates to my query, but i would like input to assist

thanks all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gerard
Administrator


Joined: 01 Sep 2000
Posts: 2346
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Settings, on the last tab, there are various connection-related applet icons. In one of them you should find a short list of potential network connection items. Select the one which seems to be your Wi-Fi card - it'd probably say 802.11 somewhere in the name if it's there - and choose 'the internet' there or wherever else in connections you find that option. Often these devices default to 'Work' under connections, and of course work isn't the internet, but an intranet, at least as I understand things. Once this is selected, you might want to OK out and then soft reset and then try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteb
Pocketeer


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject: wireless networker update Reply with quote

i explored the device and found that it indeed does see the card, it sits in the network part of connections options, i can see the card there and can get into the cards options menu and check wireless access points etc. the problem comes when i try to use the device to go out onto the network. I cannot choose it as a medium to start up a network connection. i have the normal options like IRDA and GSM / GPRS modem etc, but there is not a mention of the wireless card i can see. so i am stumped as to how i cvan use internet explorer on the PDA to access a web page. i can use the explorer to open a page through GPRS, but thats costly and as i have WIFI in the house and the card is meant to work on pocket pc 3.0/2000 machines i am unsure of how to progress.
ideas please gents......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
peteb
Pocketeer


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gerard wrote:
In Settings, on the last tab, there are various connection-related applet icons. In one of them you should find a short list of potential network connection items. Select the one which seems to be your Wi-Fi card - it'd probably say 802.11 somewhere in the name if it's there - and choose 'the internet' there or wherever else in connections you find that option. Often these devices default to 'Work' under connections, and of course work isn't the internet, but an intranet, at least as I understand things. Once this is selected, you might want to OK out and then soft reset and then try it.


I found that window, I went Today>settings>Connections Tab>Network Tab it shows my standard NE2000 Compatible ethernet Card and 802.11b device (assumed wifi card, as my GSM SX45 has not got this extra device)
I can view the server assigned or specific IP address tabs and named servers, but not much else.
What i think is missing is the connectoid that would allow me to create a connection through to the standard connections area, they can be picked up through the internet explorer option exit out onto the web, can this be added easily?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Did you visit Motorola's site and download their driver? It is required to use the card. Also, since you inserted the card without the driver, you must perform a hard reset to have the card recognized.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
peteb
Pocketeer


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, downloaded the driver, i have the applkication on the device to ping, configure IP address, wep key etc, all i am missing is the option to choose the card
there is a guy joe thielen that had the same card working on the casio e-125, which from what i beleive is identical, but have been unable to get hold of him.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ChrisDeHerrera
Site Admin


Joined: 01 Feb 2000
Posts: 7017
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Did you install the driver prior to inserting the card in your device? If you did then you have to perform a hard reset, install the driver and then insert the card.
_________________
Chris De Herrera
Microsoft MVP - Mobile Devices & Tablet PC
http://www.pocketpcfaq.com- The most complete set of FAQs on Windows CE
http://www.tabletpctalk.com - Get the latest Tablet PC News
http://www.pocketpctalk.com - Get the latest Pocket PC News
http://www.mobilitytalk.com - Quickly view all the Pocket PC & Tablet PC News on one page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket PC FAQ Forums Forum Index -> Casio Cassiopeia Forum All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Copyright 2001-2010, Chris De Herrera, All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group